The Fine Art of Towson-Glen Arm: Tricia Lane-Forster – part 2

(Continued from https://towsonglenarmfreakouts.wordpress.com/2013/07/13/)

Tricia Lane-Forster: “…I moved to Savannah, Georgia in the summer of 1997 to pursue an MFA in Fibers. My hope was to become a textile designer (to design fabric using computers). I chose the Savannah College of Art and Design’s Fibers program because it included both industry skills for textile design and fine art possibilities. I ended up going in the fine art direction with my thesis. I started out making a huge quilt about people I missed in Baltimore. It was at least 20 feet by 15 feet, taking up a whole wall in my studio. It was sort of gross too because for some reason I decided to use egg whites to stiffen the fabric. The Georgia humidity and heat made it smell too. My memories were so alive; I guess I wanted my artwork to also grow (mold). The quilt portrays Mike Apichella playing drums, my mom cooking soup, Lisa Starace and Kathryn Mullen in a canoe in Loch Raven reservoir, Colin Seven singing, my friend April catching butterflies, my boyfriend Jason taking photographs, and my dad teaching typing. I also featured people who had died. They were portrayed without faces, great aunts and uncles and Dave Willemain, who had just recently died and who was one of the last people I saw before leaving for Savannah (in a park in Towson, very late at night, while I was walking around with Jason). This quilt could have gone on forever. I had intended to keep adding more and more people to it, but the size and the materials became difficult to manage.

Tricia Lane - 'Quilt' - 1997; "...The quilt portrays Mike Apichella playing drums... Lisa Starace and Kathryn Mullen [of Out] in a canoe in Loch Raven reservoir, Colin Seven singing [aka Colin Busch of U.O.A./Jetball Taiwan/Out]..., my boyfriend Jason [Forster] taking photographs...I also featured people who had died. They were portrayed without faces...

Tricia Lane – ‘Quilt’ – 1997; “…The quilt portrays Mike Apichella playing drums… Lisa Starace and Kathryn Mullen [of Out] in a canoe in Loch Raven reservoir, Colin Seven singing [aka Colin Busch of U.O.A./Jetball Taiwan/Out]…, my boyfriend Jason [Forster] taking photographs…I also featured people who had died. They were portrayed without faces…”-“…Dave Willemain [in the top-center panel] who had just recently died and who was one of the last people I saw before leaving for Savannah (in a park in Towson, very late at night, while I was walking around with Jason)…”

I began my thesis soon after, making smaller portraits, painted with acrylic, stitched onto vinyl. I’ve included four here. “David Driving Betsy,” from 1997, portrayed David Richardson [of The Retarded Dogs] driving his Chevy Malibu. David must have driven Lisa [Starace] and me to at least a hundred shows in the Baltimore/DC/Annapolis area in that car. “Aunt Merle Shopping at the A & P,” from 1997, features a weekly shopping trip I went on as a child with my mom and great aunt (every Tuesday). “The Charm City Suicides,” from 1999, features the Charm City Suicides (who came down to Savannah and played a show while I was there). “New Year’s Eve,” features me with several friends banging on pots and pans in Little Italy to bring in 1999.

Tricia Lane - 'David Driving Betsy' - 1997 (acrylic paint and stitched vinyl)

Tricia Lane – ‘David Driving Betsy’ – 1997 (acrylic paint and stitched vinyl)

"Aunt Merle Shopping at the A & P" - autumn 1997 (acrylic paint and stitched vinyl)

“Aunt Merle Shopping at the A & P” – autumn 1997 (acrylic paint and stitched vinyl)

"Charm City Suicides" - 1999 (acrylic paint and stitched vinyl)

“Charm City Suicides” – 1999 (acrylic paint and stitched vinyl)

My MFA thesis show was titled ‘Welcome to Charm City’ and included 23 pieces portraying my life in Baltimore (I loved Savannah, but was extremely homesick until the last 3 months or so there). I was homesick for friends, family, and places, but also for music, shows, and the creative community I had left. I graduated from SCAD in 1999 and returned to Baltimore. It really wasn’t the same when I got back.

Tricia Lane MFA show post card - 1999

Tricia Lane MFA show post card – 1999

Tricia Lane MFA show post card (back) - 1999

Tricia Lane MFA show post card (back) – 1999

I still make artwork now in a variety of mediums (gouache, collage, stenciling, printmaking and clay), but I don’t share it in the same ways I did in the 90s. There are new, much less personal ways to share art now. No letters or zines that you can hold, just passing images on a computer screen as you scroll down.

Tricia Lane-Forster”

Tricia Lane - "New Years Eve" - 1999 (acrylic paint and stitched vinyl)

Tricia Lane – “New Years Eve” – 1999 (acrylic paint and stitched vinyl)

For more of Tricia Lane-Forster’s work check her profile on Etsy: http://www.etsy.com/shop/tlane

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

